The National Space Society Elects a Diverse Slate of New Leaders

NSS Leaders

On Wednesday, the National Space Society elected Anita Gale as the Chair of its Executive Committee (CEO). Gale is a retired Boeing Associate Technical Fellow who was a Senior Project Engineer in Space Shuttle Cargo and Payload Integration among her many other accomplishments in aerospace. She currently leads the Space Settlement Design Competition, an international competition that introduces high school students from around the world to the rigors of working on a corporate team to design a space settlement. Gale holds a BS and MS in aeronautics and astronautics from the University of Washington.

Michelle Hanlon was elected as the NSS President. Hanlon is the co-Director of the Center for Air and Space Law and an air and space law instructor and research counsel at the University of Mississippi School of Law. She holds a BA from Yale University, a JD from Georgetown University Law Center, and an LLM from McGill University. She also leads the NSS International Committee and previously served as the NSS Executive Vice President.

Gabriela Lindberg was elected the VP of Development. Lindberg previously chaired the NSS Social Media Committee and currently serves on the NSS Board of Directors. She holds a BA from the New School in Urban Studies in New York. Lindberg has also studied at the Pratt Institute (NYC), the Institutio Europeo di Design in Italy, and Webster University in the Netherlands.

Karlton Johnson, Chairman of the NSS Board of Governors, said, “This slate of new officers represents ongoing progress in the NSS’s goal of adding to the diversity of its leadership. It’s just one more step in our mission to democratize humanity’s migration into space with people of all cultures, ethnicities, and gender identities fully represented.”

Karlton Johnson
Karlton Johnson, Chairman of the NSS Board of Governors

Mike Snyder was elected as the NSS Secretary. Snyder is the Chief Technology Officer at Redwire and was previously the Chief Engineer at Made in Space, for which he was recognized in 2015 as one of Forbes magazine’s “30 under 30.” He holds a BS and MS in aeronautical engineering from Ohio State University, and previously served as the NSS Assistant Secretary. He is also a member of the NSS Board of Directors.

Other newly elected officers include Jeremy Wainscott, Executive Vice President; Dale Skran, Senior Vice President; and David Brandt-Erichsen, Assistant Secretary.

NSS Officers re-elected to their previous positions include:
• Karlton Johnson, Chairman of the Board of Governors
• Kirby Ikin, Chairman of the Board of Directors
• Burt Dicht, VP of Membership
• Larry Ahearn, VP of Chapters
• Lynne Zielinski, VP of Education and Outreach
• Joe Redfield, Treasurer
• John Strickland, Assistant Treasurer

NSS congratulates these leaders in their new and ongoing appointments and welcomes people from all backgrounds to join our mission to advance the human settlement of space.

The National Space Society was founded in 1987 via a merger of the National Space Institute, founded to promote citizen support for the American space program, and the L5 Society, based on the work of space settlement pioneer Gerard K. O’Neill. NSS is the preeminent citizen’s voice on space exploration, development, and settlement.


Picture of National Space Society

National Space Society

2 thoughts on “The National Space Society Elects a Diverse Slate of New Leaders”

  1. The Space Show congratulates the new NSS leadership. NSS is an excellent and very important organization and The Space Show is fortunate to work with its leaders and members in programming, promotions, books, and activities.

    NSS is in excellent hands with this new leadership team.

    Again, congratulations and best wishes as you lead NSS in an exciting future.

    Dr. David Livingston
    The Space Show

  2. Congratulations to the new team. And welcome back some of the previous office holders. There’s a lot to do. The march of private wealth into space is creating opportunities but raises the question of who will own the future. The NSS can play a crucial role in this discussion.


Leave a Comment

future 1

Don't Miss a Beat!

Be the first to know when new articles are posted!

Follow Us On Social Media


Give The Gift Of Space: Membership For Friends and Family

Book Review


ISDC 2024:

International Space Development Conference May 23rd-26th, 2024


Image of Kalpana One space settlement courtesy Bryan Versteeg, $32,000 in Cash Awards Given for Best Space-Related Business Plans — Deadline March 1, 2024

Category: Nonfiction Reviewed by: John J. Vester Title: Nuclear Rockets: To the Moon and Mars Author: Manfred “Dutch” von Ehrenfried Format: Paperback/Kindle Pages: 270 Publisher:

Partially Successful Flight Reached Space and Demonstrated New “Hot Staging” System The National Space Society congratulates SpaceX on the second test of its Starship/Super Heavy

Ad Astra, the NSS quarterly print, digital, and audio magazine, has won a 2023 MARCOM Gold Award. The awards are given yearly for “Excellence in

By Jennifer Muntz, NSS Member Coordinator On October 10th, an inspiring breakfast event took flight at the Center for Space Education at the Kennedy Space

By Grant Henriksen NSS Policy Committee Benefit sharing is a concept that refers to the distribution of benefits derived from the exploration and use of

People residing and working in space, space settlements, or on long-duration space flights will need to produce infrastructures and food to maintain healthy lifestyles. The

Image: Artist’s concept of the Blue Moon lander. Credit: Blue Origin. Second Human Landing System Contract Encourages Competition and Innovation The National Space Society congratulates