dragon 2 docking to ISS

By George Mancuso

On March 2, 2019 at 02:49:03 Eastern Time (07:49 UTC) a Dragon 2 spacecraft launched from the Kennedy Space Center atop a Falcon 9 rocket and opened a new era in spaceflight. About 27 hours later the Dragon 2 successfully docked with the International Space Station (ISS). The purpose of this mission is to evaluate performance of the combined Falcon 9 / Dragon 2 system prior to crewed flight. Although the mission was not crewed, two inanimate passengers were aboard including an Anthropomorphic Test Device (ATD, not a dummy but a “smartie”) named Ripley after the character played by Sigourney Weaver in the movie Alien. Accompanying Ripley was a soft plush doll of planet Earth about the size of a basketball used as a zero-g indicator.

Dragon 2 is a significantly different spacecraft from the Dragon 1 cargo version. Dragon 2 can accommodate up to seven individuals, although the typical mission will be with four. New Draco and Super Draco rocket engines are utilized with an asymmetrical heat shield to accommodate the Super Draco engine configuration. For the first time autonomous docking is supported along with the use of the International Docking Adapter (IDA). Super Draco engines provide abort capability, and for additional safety a four-parachute landing system is used opposed to three with Dragon-1.

Dragon 2 will remain docked to the space station for five days. During this time the spacecraft will be rigorously checked. 400 pounds of cargo will be unloaded and return cargo will also be added.


ISS astronauts enter the Dragon 2 (image courtesy NASA)

On Friday March 8 the following landing events will take place:

2:31 AM EST (07:31 UTC) – undocks autonomously and maneuvers away from the station
7:50 AM EST (12:50 UTC) – deorbit burn begins, which will last up to 15 minutes
8:45 AM EST (13:45 UTC) – splash down in the Atlantic Ocean off of the coast of Florida

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
National Space Society

National Space Society

1 thought on “SpaceX Crew Demo-1 Mission”

Leave a Comment

Search
Categories
future 1

Don't Miss a Beat!

Be the first to know when new articles are posted!

Follow Us On Social Media

JOIN THE
GREATEST ADVENTURE

Give The Gift Of Space: Membership For Friends and Family

Book Review

Archives

ISDC 2024:
A NEW SPACE AGE

International Space Development Conference May 23rd-26th, 2024

FEATURED BLOG

Image of Kalpana One space settlement courtesy Bryan Versteeg, spacehabs.com $32,000 in Cash Awards Given for Best Space-Related Business Plans — Deadline March 1, 2024

Category: Nonfiction Reviewed by: John J. Vester Title: Nuclear Rockets: To the Moon and Mars Author: Manfred “Dutch” von Ehrenfried Format: Paperback/Kindle Pages: 270 Publisher:

Partially Successful Flight Reached Space and Demonstrated New “Hot Staging” System The National Space Society congratulates SpaceX on the second test of its Starship/Super Heavy

Ad Astra, the NSS quarterly print, digital, and audio magazine, has won a 2023 MARCOM Gold Award. The awards are given yearly for “Excellence in

By Jennifer Muntz, NSS Member Coordinator On October 10th, an inspiring breakfast event took flight at the Center for Space Education at the Kennedy Space

By Grant Henriksen NSS Policy Committee Benefit sharing is a concept that refers to the distribution of benefits derived from the exploration and use of

People residing and working in space, space settlements, or on long-duration space flights will need to produce infrastructures and food to maintain healthy lifestyles. The

Image: Artist’s concept of the Blue Moon lander. Credit: Blue Origin. Second Human Landing System Contract Encourages Competition and Innovation The National Space Society congratulates