NSS Leadership

NSS Board of Directors NSS Board of Directors

National Space Society Board
of Directors

The NSS Board of Directors is responsible for the overall supervision, control, direction, and governance of the property, activities, and affairs of the Society, its committees, and its publications. Members of the Board of Directors are elected either At-Large, by the whole membership of the society, or for one of 8 Regional positions.  Regional Directors are elected for 2-year terms; At-Large Directors for four years. Note: Each member of the NSS Executive Committee is an ex officio (non-voting) member of the Board of Directors, if not already a voting member of the Board. See list of all prior members of the Board of Directors.

At-Large Directors, terms expiring 2028

At-Large Directors, terms expiring 2026

Regional Directors, terms expiring 2026

Map of US Regions for Regional Directors

US regions map

NSS Regions

The National Space Society Board of Directors has eight Regional Directors corresponding to eight regions defined as follows. The primary purpose is to create a pathway for local Chapter leaders to serve on the Board of Directors when they otherwise might not have the opportunity to do so.

The eight regions are defined by the following list:

Region 1: Asia/Pacific: Asia (including all of Turkey, Israel, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, but not Russia), Australia, Antarctica, Southern California (California zip code areas 93499 and below), Hawaii, and islands in the Pacific, Indian, and Antarctic Oceans.

Region 2: Northwest North America: Northern California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, Alaska, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and islands in the Arctic Ocean.

Region 3: Southwest United States/Latin America: Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Mexico, Central America, South America, and islands in the Caribbean Sea.

Region 4: Central North America: Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Idaho, Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, Montana, South Dakota, North Dakota, Minnesota, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba.

Region 5: Southern United States: Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Arkansas, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Kentucky.

Region 6: Midwest United States: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Wisconsin, and Michigan.

Region 7: Mid-Atlantic North America: Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey.

Region 8: Afro-Europe/Atlantic: New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, Europe (including all of Russia and Ukraine), Africa, and islands in the Mediterranean Sea and in the Atlantic Ocean excluding the Caribbean Sea.