International Space Development Conference 1991

The National Space Society’s 10th annual International Space Development Conference was held in San Antonio, Texas. Conference sessions included:   Opening Session: A call for Action
  • Dr. Carol Redfield
  • Martin Goland
  • Brig. Gen. William L. Worthington, Jr.
  • Dr. John Howe
  • Charlie Walker
  Potpourri: Planning and Systems
  • Dr. Kumar Krishen – Critical Technologies for Future Space Applications
  • Dennis Stone – The Assured Crew Return Vehicle
  Technology: Space Manufacturing
  • Glen Chapman – Space: The Ideal Place to Manufacture Microchips
  Technology: Space Vehicles and Infrastructure
  • Mike Simon – Introduction
  • Douglas Comstock – Low Earth Orbit
  • Robert Zubrin – Mars Surface
  • John Logston – Lunar Surface
  • Brent Shrewood – Cycling Orbits
  Technology: Space Manufacturing
  • Scott Pace – U.S. Competitive Position in Manufacturing Tech.
  • Hubert P. Davis – The Moon as a Source of Energy for Earth
  • Gay Canough – Experimental Spacecraft Society
  General: Business and Economics
  • Bill Wirin – Introduction
  • James C. Bennett – A Decade of Space Entrepreneurship: A Retrospective and Prospective View
  • James Joseph Sanchez – A Fifteen Year Program for Developing Lunar Based Information Industries
  • Dr. Peter C. Bishop – The Future of the Space Industry: Opportunities for Texas
  • Mike H. Ryan – A Practical Perspective on Space Enterprise
  • Kirby Ikin – Doing Business in Space – An Australian Perspective
  • Edward L. Keith – Low-Cost Earth to Low Earth Orbit Transportation System
  • George L. von Pragenau – United Space Fleet: It’s Safety and Economy
  Potpourri: Instructional
  • J. Wesley Regian – Future Training Technology: Intelligent Virtual Training Worlds
  • Shirley J. Ratcliff – Demonstration of Multimedia: A Training Tool to Counter Space-Age Information Overload
  Technology: Future Technology
  • K. Eric Drexler – Nanotechnology for Space Development
  • Joe Feaber and Keri Koleski – Technology: Planetary Communities, Genesis: Advanced Lunar Outpost II
  • Mark Kaehny – The Lunar Hostel: An Alternative Concept for First Beachhead and Secondary Outposts
  NSS Awards Banquet
  • Dr. Hans Mark – Presentation
  International Programs
  • Bill Wirin – Introduction
  • Dictmar Wurzel – German Space Policy and International Cooperation
  • H. Hollister Cantus – International Space Business
  • Bill Wirin – USSR GlavCosmos
  Closing session: Global Space Community
  • Aaron Cohan – Closing Remarks
  • General Robert Herres – Our National Space Agenda: Horizon for Progress
  • Max Hunter – Single Stage to Orbit, SSX
  • Final Remarks