Awards and Scholarships

Awards Scholarships

Each year at the International Space Development Conferences, the National Space Society honors individuals and groups who have made significant contributions consistent with the Society’s mission of creating a spacefaring civilization. These awards include:

The Robert A. Heinlein Memorial Award

For lifetime contributions to the creation of a free spacefaring civilization. Selected by vote of the NSS membership and given only in even-numbered years.

The NSS Wernher Von Braun Memorial Award

For the greatest space team effort of the year, given only in odd-numbered years.

The Gerard K. O’Neill Memorial Award

For Space Settlement Advocacy, given occasionally as warranted

The Space Pioneer Awards

Usually three of which are given each year in recognition of significant accomplishments in opening the space frontier

The Chris Pancratz Memorial Space Activist of the Year Award

For the person who has done the most to move forward the development of space

NSS Excellence Awards

For individual volunteer efforts in service to the Society

NSS Chapter Awards

For the most active chapters of the year

The Herman Rubin Memorial Scholarship

The Herman Rubin Memorial Scholarship of $5,000 is presented annually to the highest ranking entry in The NSS Gerard K. O’Neill Space Settlement Contest whose student(s) attend the ISDC.

Past Awards:

Bruce M. Clark, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Was presented annually from 2010 to 2018 to the grand prize winner(s) of the NSS Space Settlement Contest

Awards No Longer Being Given:

See also:

Karlton Johnson, Chair of the NSS Board of Governors, hands the von Braun award to Eric Smith, program scientist for the James Webb Telescope Team. CREDIT: Daniel Fox/NSS.
NSS Vice President of Space Development Greg Autry presents NSS Space Pioneer Award for Entrepreneurship to Jared Isaacman at ISDC. CREDIT: Daniel Fox/NSS.

Awards Given Out by Year: